Why Finland’s MTV Lifestyle website censors comments with valid scientific opinions?

On March 30, 2015, at 17:01, on the website of the Finnish TV station – MTV – was posted in a Lifestyle section a story about electromagnetic sensitivity, the EHS. I was one of the persons interviewed for this story, because of my scientific background and internationally recognized expertise in field effects of electromagnetic radiation.

Soon after the story was published I submitted the first comment. It was the shortened title of one of my recent blog posts on my BRHP site where I discussed the inadequacy of the scientific evidence that is used to dismiss the existence of EHS.

My comment was somewhat this (because I submitted it three times there might have been small differences between each of THREE comments):

EHS research, and its review, are polluted by the bad science. https://betweenrockandhardplace.wordpress.com/2014/04/06/conclusions-of-the-canadian-report-confirm-that-ehs-research-and-its-review-are-polluted-by-the-bad-science/

My comment included a link to the post and, after comment submission, I received the message that comment was received and awaits moderation. Normal procedure…

However, when the day passed and my comment did not show up, I submitted the comment again, with the link, and… again the comment was received and awaited moderator’s response… And again nothing has happened.

At that time I contacted the journalist, who wrote the story on EHS, and I asked her what is going on and why my comment is not being accepted.

She did not know but she checked wit moderator (as she said) and asked if I could submit my comment again…

Weird… did both previously submitted comments simply evaporated or were they both flatly deleted?

So, I did submit my comment, for the THIRD time, yesterday, on April 1, 2015, and also send a message to the journalist that the comment was submitted, again with the link…

And again, the comment, submitted as all three were with my name on it, vanished… It is not seen on the story website.

The QUESTION to the MTV Lifestyle and MTV bosses in Finland in general is:

Why my legitimate comment was censored out?

Because it is difficult to believe that the computer skills of the moderator for the MTV Lifestyle are so poor that he/she does not know what to do when comment with link comes.

I consider this MTV behavior as a case of unjustified censorship and I expect both, response from MTV bosses explaining the censorship reasons and an apology (my e-mail address is blogBRHP [at] gmail.com).

Dariusz Leszczynski, PhD, DSc

  • Adjunct Professor (Dosentti)
    Department of Biosciences, Division of Biochemistry & Biotechnology, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Editor-in-Chief Frontiers in Radiation and Health, A specialty of the Frontiers in Public Health, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Member of the Advisory Board, Cellraid, Ltd, Oulu, Finland

One thought on “Why Finland’s MTV Lifestyle website censors comments with valid scientific opinions?

  1. Pingback: Finland’s MTV Lifestyle: censorship does not exist – at least nobody admits doing it… | BRHP – Between a Rock and a Hard Place

Comments are closed.